With a Kansas concealed carry license, you can carry in 38 states. It's one of the most widely recognized licenses in the country.Who may take the class?
Anyone may take the class including those who reside in other states and foreign nationals. However, you must meet certain state requirements to receive your license. The requirements are that you must be at least 21, a permanent U.S. resident, a Kansas resident, and pass a background check.How do I get my Kansas concealed carry license?
After completing our training class, you'll apply in person at your local sheriff's office. Bring the course certificate, a completed CCHL application and two checks or money orders with you: one in the amount of $32.50 payable to your county sheriff's office and another in the amount of $100 payable to Office of the Attorney General.Can I fail the class?
The only way to fail the class is to intentionally violate one of the gun safety rules. Safety is the primary concept taught in the class and must be followed at all times.What should I bring to the class?
Your driver's license or state-issued ID, your pistol and 20 rounds of ammo, and eye/ear protection if you have them.What if I don’t have a pistol?
You may rent one of our guns including ammo for only $10.Is there an extra range fee?
Yes, a $10 range fee will be collected by the range. This is an additional fee not included in the class price.Can I take the class if I’ve never fired a gun?
Absolutely. The class covers shooting fundamentals and the operation of a handgun. You will leave the class knowing the basics of shooting.What states honor the Kansas license?
Click the Classes tab above and scroll down to the map.What are the Kansas laws pertaining to concealed carry?
Kansas concealed carry licenses are valid for 4 years.How do I renew my license?
At least 90 days prior to your license's expiration, the attorney general's office will mail you an expiration notice and renewal form. Return via certified mail your completed and notarized form along with an updated 2"x2" photo and check or money order for $25. You may renew up to six months past expiration for an additional $15 fee. Licenses expired more than six months are not eligible for renewal, and you'll need to start the process over including a training class and the initial application fee of $132.50.When I get my permit, should I carry a handgun?
Carrying a loaded gun is not meant to bring some excitement into your life. When you carry a concealed handgun, you take on an extra burden and a significant responsibility to yourself, your family and your community. You carry the means to protect life and deal out death. You will be held to a higher standard of conduct.
If you cannot accept this responsibility, adapt your lifestyle, and make a significant commitment to training, you should not carry a handgun. You will be a risk to yourself and those around you.When should I use a gun to defend myself?
If you ever shoot someone no matter how justified, your life as you know it is over. Don't ever do it unless it is the absolute last resort to save your life or the life of someone you care about.